Stages Of Grief


I apologize to those of you who have had to put up with my startling emotional changes in the past couple of months. The stages of grief are a very real thing and right now I’m at the acceptance part, but that could change at any time.


I keep cycling between denial and isolation, depression, and acceptance as I’m sure my blog posts show.

I feel much better today. I think I know which way I want my life to go. Of course, the wind could blow me another way tomorrow, but you know what? I’m actually okay with that.

It’s been a long time since I’ve just let the tide pull me where I needed to go. I’ve always been one to fight against it, wear myself out, and end up beating myself to death on a rock. However, I feel….still inside.

I can feel my breath, I can feel my heartbeat, and that is enough.

Actually, it’s more than enough.

And, so am I.

Five Stages Of Grief

  • Denial and Isolation.

At first, we tend to deny the loss has taken place, and may withdraw from our usual social contacts. This stage may last a few moments, or longer.

  • Anger

The grieving person may then be furious at the person who inflicted the hurt (even if she’s dead), or at the world, for letting it happen. He may be angry with himself for letting the event take place, even if, realistically, nothing could have stopped it.

  • Bargaining

Now the grieving person may make bargains with God, asking, “If I do this, will you take away the loss?”

  • Depression

The person feels numb, although anger and sadness may remain underneath.

  • Acceptance

This is when the anger, sadness and mourning have tapered off. The person simply accepts the reality of the loss.

A person can cycle through these stages many times.

Grief And Stress
During grief, it is common to have many conflicting feelings.

  • Sorrow, anger, loneliness, sadness, shame, anxiety, and guilt often accompany serious losses.

Having so many strong feelings can be very stressful. Yet denying the feelings, and failing to work through the five stages of grief, is harder on the body and mind than going through them.

When people suggest “looking on the bright side,” or other ways of cutting off difficult feelings, the grieving person may feel pressured to hide or deny these emotions. Then it will take longer for healing to take place.

Recovering From Grief
Grieving and its stresses pass more quickly, with good self-care habits. It helps to have a close circle of family or friends. It also helps to eat a balanced diet, drink enough non-alcoholic fluids, get exercise and rest.

Most people are unprepared for grief, since so often, tragedy strikes suddenly, without warning. If good self-care habits are always practiced, it helps the person to deal with the pain and shock of loss until acceptance is reached.


3 thoughts on “Stages Of Grief

  1. I understand, when I think I have reached acceptance I regress. This is the hardest thing I have ever endured outside of loosing my parents. I call it a death of choice unlike when loved ones pass away. HUGS

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s